The BP MS 150 is coming . . . SOON!

(Post-ride blog here) This weekend, April 16-17. My first ride in the event, and my first genuine “Century Ride” (100 miles) followed by the remaining 78 miles from LaGrange into Austin for the finish on Sunday. I will be riding for Liesl, Susan and Bill. If you have a friend or family with MS and would like to add their name, just post a comment and that person will be added to my list.

There appear to be many ways to follow the action including a video link (to be posted on the BP MS 150 Home page and available starting Saturday) of the start and the finish, the BP MS 150 Facebook Fan PageBP MS 150 Twitter and my personal tracking link. That link is http://www.greenalp.com/RealTimeTracker/index.php?guestmode=1&viewuser=captainjustice&guestpassword=MS150 and it will be active from the time we leave Friday morning to catch the bus in Austin to go to Houston. The link is done with a program on my DROID X smartphone that uses the cell signal to send my GPS-derived location to the web. It will update every 3 minutes IF I am in cell range. It will also be active today during my last training ride.

My personal page on the MS site has info about my preparations to do this ride. Preparation has been important given the fact that I only started cycling in August of 2010. I’ve ridden 1,499 miles and burned 83,772 calories in the process of also climbing 63,678 vertical feet. Gee, that makes a 178 mile jaunt seem like nothing! I will take a short, final prep ride today just to stay loose — nothing strenuous. The equipment involved (other than my creaking body) is shown on my cycling page.

Also riding from Marble Falls is Keith Conrad and I am riding with his Republic Services (Allied Waste) team. Wish us luck!

About Gil Jones

CPA/Attorney/Judge by training and trade. Hobby nut at heart with BMW m/c, computers, ham radio, kayak fishing, photography, hiking and, starting in 2010 some semi-serious running and bicycling (road and mountain bikes). Retired after 16 years on a Texas District Court bench and since 2013 have been mediating cases. I am a Credentialed Distinguished mediator (TMCA).
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Life and sea stories, Philosophical-Inspiring-Interesting-Whatever and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The BP MS 150 is coming . . . SOON!

  1. Pingback: Just another ride … with 13,000 friends | Musings of Captain Justice

  2. Pingback: Texas Bicycling Blog and News Roundup for April 13th « Texbiker.net

  3. rhonda knight says:

    so very proud of you !!!!!!!! you are an inspiration to us all

  4. Ann Ragsdale says:

    Godspeed…..ride like the wind – steady and strong!

Leave a Reply

