New math: 5K + 10 miles = 66

(updated 9/14/2010) Jennifer thinks I’ve lost my mind and today I set out to prove to her … that she’s probably right! Moreover, I’ve almost convinced myself.I started working toward doing a 5K back in May of this year. In fact I only started running at all in May. I had been doing a lot of walking with spurts of jogging. I didn’t particularly care if I actually ran a formal 5K race or not, but it would be ok if I did.  When the CASA 5K was scheduled for 9/11/2010 it was clear that now I had to put the rubber on the road for real — literally.

The course is from Johnson Park in Marble Falls, winds down to Lakeshore Dr. (waved at my sister as I went by her house), up to the back gate of Meadowlakes and up Meadowlakes Drive, the main street, and around to return to the park. The following is my actual track.

The start

The finish -- Note the strong kick!

Between the start, complete with the timing “chip” embedded in the race number tag, and the finish is a mere 3.1 miles.  The humidity must have been close to 95% and the temp was already 77  degrees. I had told Jennifer that my goal was to finish the run in 33 minutes. My training pace had been about 11:45 minutes per mile and a 33 minute run would require about an 11 minutes per mile pace.  A mere 32.57.5 minutes later, I was across the finish line at the target pace in spite of starting out too fast.  My first mile was at 10:32, second mile was 11:25, and the final mile and a tenth was at a 10:35 pace. All of that tells me that I can break 30 minutes pretty soon!

Marc Bittner’s wife snapped us coming out of the starting area with the electronic timer chirping away. I found it to be almost distracting. And here Marc (who had long since finished!) catches me at the finish in full sprint. Well, as full a sprint as I had left at the moment.

Herb Lewis caught me right at the finish

Racetechs has me at 32:57.5 but my Garmin Forerunner 305 has me at 32:05 … and it has a couple of additional seconds on it where I forgot to stop it.

Check the ribbon!

So how did I do on this inaugural 5K? That’s a 2nd place ribbon for the 60-69 age group.

Yep, I was pretty pleased with that. It was good for getting rid of 439 calories.  And here’s the result tally from the Racetechs site (and overall I was 57th out of 151 runners) — beat a bunch of “kids”:

The overall pace was right at 11 minutes/mile — faster than I had ever run in training.  The heart rate was higher than in my training runs (avg/max 165/208) which I attribute to (a) I had not run for two weeks although I had spent a lot of time on bikes (road and mountain) plus hiking, (2) it was really humid, and (3) being my first actual race I had to negotiate other people, probably had a few nerves going, and the adrenalin was no doubt flowing.

But the 5k was only part of the story.

The now hugely famous in our own minds Tour de Longneques — the Llano to Castell bike ride — was set for 10:30, a late start to accommodate those of us doing the 5K first. Turns out I was the only one who came from the 5k to do the ride.

Part of the group

About a dozen of us gathered at the Llano Courthouse and struck out toward Castell. The total distance is 18 miles and I had to toss it in at 10.4 miles. Every hill was running my heart rate up and I just thought it best not to be silly about continuing.  Average speed 11.6, 623 calories burned, heart rate avg/max 149/161.

I'm done

Really done!

This is where I checked it in. And thanks a lot for that pic on the right, Jennifer!

The leader of the pack, high school buddy Don Bynum, has his usual excellent write-up in more detail with a number of great photos.

All in all it was a great day. At the end of the ride we had the wonderful soak in the rushing, replenishing waters of the Llano River and the fabulous BBQ and beer at the Castell General Store. And no, I’m not EVEN thinking about a Triathlon! That should prove that I’ve not totally lost my mind.

About Gil Jones

CPA/Attorney/Judge by training and trade. Hobby nut at heart with BMW m/c, computers, ham radio, kayak fishing, photography, hiking and, starting in 2010 some semi-serious running and bicycling (road and mountain bikes). Retired after 16 years on a Texas District Court bench and since 2013 have been mediating cases. I am a Credentialed Distinguished mediator (TMCA).
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New math: 5K + 10 miles = 66

  1. Pingback: Tour de Longneques – Sept 11 2010 edition | Don Bynum's Blog

Leave a Reply

