Coming unhinged with a Vista in my future

It was an ordinary day as I prepared to do some research when I opened the lid to my trusty HP laptop, a zv6170us model running Windows XP and an 80% full 100gig hard drive. Plug it in, lift the lid, when … “pop” and I knew instantly that the remaining good hinge on the display/lid had failed. This was quickly confirmed by the lid which now flopped in my hand like a wet noodle!

After an unhappy chat with HP support yielding a repair cost that was unjustifiable I commenced checking many online review sites and the latest post-crash sales of high-end laptops. Oh, the credit line on my credit card was also checked πŸ˜‰ and soon the new Dell XPS M1530 was on order — but it has Windows Vista on it — and the word on the “street” about Vista is not good.Β  Not only do I have to reinstall about 100 application programs, but I have to do it on a new operating system to boot.

My fear and trepidation about that was not totally unfounded but Vista is not as bad as you read in some reviews. For a new or basic user it’s probably more user-friendly, but for an advanced user accustomed to where to find various settings and tweaks on XP, it’s awful!

So here I sit on a Saturday morning, glad that the weather is too bad to fish or work outdoors, transferring data files and re-loading programs, the ones I can find, that is. Do you know where all of YOUR program CDs are? πŸ˜‰

About Gil Jones

CPA/Attorney/Judge by training and trade. Hobby nut at heart with BMW m/c, computers, ham radio, kayak fishing, photography, hiking and, starting in 2010 some semi-serious running and bicycling (road and mountain bikes). Retired after 16 years on a Texas District Court bench and since 2013 have been mediating cases. I am a Credentialed Distinguished mediator (TMCA).
This entry was posted in computing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

